Saturday, 26 December 2015

MOVIE REVIEW: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Ten years after the last film in the saga was released, and arguably 35 years after the last great film in the Star Wars cannon was released, we get Episode VII: The Force Awakens. There was a lot riding on this for director J.J Abrams. Yes, he’s directed big Hollywood blockbusters before, but this is Star Wars. A saga that people hold so dear to them that it has almost become like a religion. The added pressure comes from the stream of let downs that the prequels served up. Personally I think those films get more stick than they perhaps deserve, but needless to say they did not live up to the original trilogy in any way, shape or form. I was initially very skeptical about this movie. “Oh here we go again, Hollywood milking the all too obliging Star Wars fanatics for another billion dollars.”. But as they started rolling out the trailers, I became more and more intrigued. I wouldn’t say I was keeling over in excitement, but as 2015 rolled on my opinion on there being a new Star Wars film went from cynicism to skepticism. These movies, even the prequels which I grew up watching before the originals, hold a special magic to me. I certainly didn’t want a repeat of the prequels, but at the same time I didn’t want a nostalgic rip off of the the first film. This is why Star Wars must always be approached with caution, because its so easy to screw up. Many would argue, myself included, that even the original saga had numerous flaws from a technical stand point, but the depth of feeling it gave you when you watched them was something very profound.

I am sorry to say that The Force Awakens did not give me that feeling. This is a good movie, but a heavily flawed one also. I got the feeling as I sat there in the packed cinema that I was being played a little bit. Like these hoards of people had crammed in here expecting to see the best film of the year, and many probably left confirming that to themselves in their own minds. I myself went in with super high expectations, maybe too high. I wanted another Empire Strikes Back, with the same practical effects, action sequences, memorable characters and meaningful story. A few of these elements delivered in Episode 7, but too many fell way, way short.

Let’s start with the characters. The two central roles were afforded to Rey and Finn. The former being an unassuming scavenger on Jakku, the latter being a rogue stormtrooper for The First Order, who has always doubted his allegiance to the dark side and decides to escape. Daisy Ridley as Rey is good, but not spectacular. Her performance felt a little bit theatrical to me. I don’t know what it was. Maybe her very pronounced British accent (I’m British myself), was what annoyed me, but it certainly wasn’t helped by some of her dialogue, which was sometimes prequel level of bad. “I didn’t know this much green existed in the whole galaxy” being a highlight. Finn, played by John Boyega, was slightly better. I enjoyed his storyline quite a bit, but I think a bit more time should have been dedicated to him as a stormtrooper, it would have added some emotional weight to his betrayal and subsequent heroism. The relationship between the two was cool to watch develop, but as so often is the case with Star Wars, they throw in too many jokes at serious moments. I couldn’t get as invested as I would have liked in the story because whenever I felt some tension was building up, they would kill it with a joke. Don’t get me wrong, I love the way humour was used in the original trilogy because it was well timed and placed. Here it felt sometimes haphazard and overused, although some lines did make me chuckle.

Han Solo returns in this movie and he is definitely his old self. It was emotional seeing him and Chewee back in the Millennium Falcon of course, and for the most part Harrison Ford did an amazing job portraying that swashbuckling space cowboy for the fourth time. Carrie Fisher as Leia was also good, but I would have liked a bit more of her. As far as the dark side is concerned, here is where I have my major issues. The main protagonist is Sith Lord Kylo Ren. I am hearing everyone say he is nothing like Darth Vadar. Seriously? He spends most of the movie with a helmet on, speaks like Vadar, walks like Vadar, is conflicted like Vadar and spends the whole film serving a puppet master, like Vadar. We find out early on in the film that Kylo is in fact Han and Leia’s son, and was trained by Luke Skywalker. Luke then fled, presumably due to the shame of letting his dear friends down. I like this idea, but again not enough time and dialogue is given to Han or Leia to explain it. I get that this was probably done to build anticipation and mystery for Episode 8, but I have to judge this as a stand alone film. Apart from this, Kylo just kind of bored me. I didn’t feel the same threatening presence when he was on screen as I did watching Vadar or the emperor, or even Darth Maul. The great thing about episodes 4-6 is that we only found out explicitly that Vadar had conflicting emotions at the very end, so it felt like a cathartic release. With Ren we get none of that, it is spelled out for us plain and simple when he says that he still feels the pull of the light side.

The surrounding cast was good but once again, left more to be desired. Leader of the First Order, Snoke, was a CGI mess. His dialogue with Ren and General Hux was decent but predictable.  Hux himself was one of my favourite characters, partly because I’m a huge fan of Domhnall Gleeson, but also because he delivers one of the best patches of the script in the whole film when he’s dictating the role of The First Order to a huge army of stormtroopers. I needed more of that type of scene to build the universe up to a point where I cared about the characters in it more. BB8 was easily one of my favourite things about The Force Awakens. He was just as endearing and likeable as R2-D2, if a bit of a rip off.

The plot of The Force Awakens echoes many of the earlier films in tone and arc. George Lucas always said that the saga was like rhyming couplets, and I can see the beauty in that. Yes, it steals a lot from A New Hope, but I don’t think that’s the main negative here. The main issue I had with the movie was lack of character development and a few plot holes. The first being Rey and her affinity to the Force. It all felt very predictable when she finally managed to break Kylo’s mind tricks and eventually managed to fend him off in the lightsaber battle at the end. But really, how is this possible. I seem to remember both Luke and Anakin requiring years of training to master the force and become Jedi. Luke didn’t have the first idea how to harness the Force when he first started training with Obi-Wan. This was a major problem for me because I think this training element was part of the magic of the first six films. Yoda’s message was that a young Jedi must master oneself, one’s mind and one’s body before they could master the Force. Anakin had to learn for years with Obi-Wan, and Luke had to spend much time with Yoda on Dagoba before either of them could even face a Sith Lord. Yet Rey didn’t need any of that to fend off Kylo with a lightsaber, or to resist his mind tricks. This was simply a plot hole too far for me, and spoilt the suspense those two moments would have had if she’d faced him after training.

My second major gripe is with Han’s death. I have no problem with him being killed, in fact I think the time was right. But as I mentioned before, I didn’t feel a strong father-son bond between them when they ending up meeting on Starkiller base. I didn’t have enough back story to care that much, compared to when Vadar and Luke met in cloud city and we understood the magnitude of the moment. Maybe some flashbacks would have served to remedy this for me. I also didn’t like how the death was handled from a physical standpoint. Han tries to bring Ren back to the light which I liked, but when he took off his helmet the moment was killed for me once again. This all added up to the death of one of my favourite characters becoming a bit of an anti-climax. The rest of the story was pretty standard for Star Wars. The Resistance has to take down yet another death star-like base by blowing up a reactor. The moment they managed it was satisfying but also felt a bit too familiar. The story comes to an end with R2-D2 and BB8 collating their maps of the universe to locate Skywalker. This was a cool idea, but I still don’t get why R2-D2 waited all that time to activate. Rey then travels to find Luke in the outer reaches of the galaxy, where we get a final shot of him looking sad and reflective as he sees Rey. This was a really great way to end the film, but it would have been more poignant if I’d been more invested in the whole movie. That being said it did have me intrigued about what the next film might serve up.

I think where this film really shined was in its action sequences. There were some poor ones, namely the lightsaber fight at the end, which was far too short and badly shot in my opinion. The opening action sequence was great, as were most on Jakku. I was on the edge of my seat when Rey and Finn were trying to escape a First Order air raid with BB8 right behind them. It felt like classic Star Wars stuff, and most importantly, it felt real. The sets were also impressive, and the practical effects did their thing in making this feel authentic and nothing like the prequels. Starkiller base was grandiose and massive, blending the natural with the artificial, which I think just about stayed within the bounds of realism. Pretty much every set blew me away. This movie is a visual treat, especially after spending the last week watching the prequels. The CGI characters, aside from Snoke, were believable and well realised. John Williams' score provided brief moments of nostalgia and delight, but ultimately didn't live up to his work on the other films (even the prequels). There were no themes that grabbed my attention in the same way Yoda's theme or the Imperial march did, but that might change with repeated listens. Overall it was a solid score.

I won’t say much more about The Force Awakens. I applaud Abrams for tackling such a delicate project and especially for bringing the saga back to the real world with amazing practical effects and sets. Technically this movie is a feast for the eyes and ears. Your average movie-goer will enjoy this film, and to Abrams’ credit I think he has made a movie that will appeal to both newcomers to the franchise and long-term fans. But for me, several things spoilt my enjoyment of the movie a little too much for me to hail it as one of the best of the year. The fact that it tried to recreate the magic of A New Hope I think worked to both its advantage and disadvantage, but overall I just simply didn’t care as much about the characters or the story. But who knows, maybe this is just me and my cynicism. Its more than likely that these characters will be the heroes of a new generation, and that’s great. I hold out hope that Episode VIII will fill in some blanks and develop the characters historical and emotional profiles to a point where I can feel as close to it as I did the older films. That remains to be seen.

Acting: 45
Narrative: 45
Visuals: 60
Music: 65


Overall: 54/100

No comments:

Post a Comment